Statute of Limitations for Animal Bites Lawyers
How Long Do I Have to Sue after Being Bit by a Dog or Other Animal?
The answer to this question depends on how long the Statute of Limitations is for injuries in the state where the accident occurred. Generally speaking, the shortest statutes of limitations for injuries like dog bites are 6 months, and the longest are 3 years. Check with a personal injury attorney in your state to see what time limit may apply to your case.
What if the Defendant Is a Government Employee or Agency?
If the defendant is a government agency or employee, the statute of limitations may be shorter than for other defendants. For example, in California, a victim only has 6 months to bring a charge against a government employee or agency for an injury like a dog bite.
What if the Victim is a Child or Another Animal?
Many states, such as California, hold that if the victim is a child, he or she can sue at any point before becoming 19 years of age. With regard to animal victims, many states hold that the injured animal¿s owner can bring suit against a non-governmental defendant for up to 3 years. But each state has different rules, so be sure to check your state¿s law.
Do I Need a Lawyer for My Dog Bite Issue?
If you or your child has been bitten by a dog and you are considering suing its owner, it may be wise to speak with a personal injury lawyer. Working with an experienced personal injury attorney can help you understand your rights and obligations, as well as help you deal with the complicated legal system.
Consult a Lawyer - Present Your Case Now!
Last Modified: 05-27-2010 11:15 AM PDT