Are You an Attorney? Grow Your Practice

Employment Lawyers and
Top Rated Employment Attorneys
in San Diego, CA

Choose the Issues Involved in Your Case:
Find a category or issue not listed
LegalMatch California is a California State Bar Certified Lawyer Referral Service (#0140).

Find Lawyers

Show More

About San Diego Employment Lawyers

What Can a San Diego Employment Lawyer Do for You?
An employment lawyer is primarily concerned with protecting their client’s rights as an employee. However, employment attorneys also work on behalf of employers in order to ensure they comply with the law. In any event, a San Diego employment lawyer can represent you in court as needed, should any issues related to employment arise.

If you are an employee, an employment lawyer can help you prove claims of discrimination, unsafe workplaces, and the like. They will help you gather evidence to support your claim, and will represent you in court if you need to file a lawsuit. An employment attorney will work towards a suitable damages award.

If you are an employer, it would be wise to consult with an employment lawyer when drafting your policies and procedures. A San Diego employment lawyer can ensure you are in compliance with applicable laws, and will assist you in creating an employee handbook that protects you as well as your employees.

How Much Does a San Diego Employment Lawyer Cost?
When considering how much an employment lawyer may cost, it is important to remember that many factors influence how much rates may fluctuate. Location will largely impact how much an employment attorney will cost; as a general rule, attorneys located in larger cities will cost more than those located in smaller towns. However, a higher-price attorney will not necessarily produce better results than one that costs less.

A San Diego employment lawyer may cost anywhere from $350 per hour to $475 per hour. It is not uncommon for California employment lawyers to work on a contingency fee basis, as opposed to an hourly basis. What this means is that the attorney will not cost anything until or unless they win the case. When the case has won, the attorney will receive a percentage of the client’s award as payment. This percentage can be as high as 50%, but it is usually in the 30% range.

Related Articles