Same-Sex Divorce

Locate a Local Family Lawyer

Find Lawyers in Other Categories
Most Common Family Law Issues:

Can Married Same-Sex Couples Get a Divorce?

Since same-sex marriage is only recognized in 19 jurisdictions, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Washington and Washington, D.C., getting a same-sex divorce can be difficult in other states.

For example, if you and your same-sex partner were married under Massachusetts law, you can only get a "no fault" divorce if you or your spouse were residents of the state or if the cause of divorce is an act of infidelity that occurred in Massachusetts. If you do not meet these criteria, then you will not be able to get a legal divorce.

However, the legal effect of a non-Massachusetts couple who is prevented from getting a divorce may not be great, as no other government, state or federal, recognizes the same-sex marriage in the first place. The practical effect (property and custody issues), on the other hand, may be of great difficulty.

Same-Sex Divorces in California

California requires one of the divorcing spouses to reside in the state for at least 6 months prior to filing. Non-resident same-sex spouses can divorce in California if they were married in the state and neither spouse resides in a state that recognizes same-sex divorce.

Same-Sex Divorces in Delaware

Delaware requires that one of the spouses reside in the state for a minimum of 6 months before filing for divorce. The state will also recognize a divorce if both spouses live in a state that does not recognize same-sex divorce and the couple was married in Delaware.

Same-Sex Divorces in Hawaii

Hawaii requires 6 months of residency prior to dissolution of the marriage. Couples married in Hawaii who currently reside in a state that will not dissolve the marriage can also divorce in Hawaii.

Same-Sex Divorces in Illinois

Illinois requires 90 days of residency prior to filing for divorce. Illinois will also grant divorces to non-resident spouses.

Same-Sex Divorces in Minnesota

Minnesota has a 180 day residency requirement. Same-sex spouses married in Minnesota who reside in a state that does not allow same-sex divorce can divorce in the state.

Same-Sex Divorces in Massachusetts

All divorces in Massachusetts are treated the same, regardless of whether they involve heterosexual couples or same-sex couples. Massachusetts requires that couples seeking divorce reside in the state for at least one year prior to filing for a divorce.

This gives married Massachusetts same-sex couples a great advantage over others because it allows them to utilize the state rules and procedures for divorces. Those who do not have access to same-sex divorce often must rely on many different courts in order to legally divide property.

However, there are a few issues which make same-sex divorces tricky. For example, most divorce settlements take into account the length of the relationship. A same-sex couple may have been living together for 20 years before Massachusetts decided to allow same-sex marriage. Thus, should the length of the relationship be evaluated at 20 plus years, or the much shorter length of the legal marriage?

Same-Sex Divorces in New Hampshire

In New Hampshire, same-sex divorce is the same as heterosexual divorce. The residency requirement for New Hampshire is that both spouses must be in the state and that the filing spouse must have spent at least a year in New Hampshire prior to filing for divorce.

Same-Sex Divorce in Iowa

Iowa requires that all couples seeking a divorce reside in the state for at least a year prior to filing.

Same-Sex Divorce in New York

New York requires that the filing spouse be in the state of New York and that the filing spouse has lived in New York for two consecutive and continuous years before the filing.

Same-Sex Divorce in Vermont

Vermont requests that either spouse be a resident for six months before filing. At least one spouse must reside in the state for a year (can include the six months for filing) before a family state court can issue a decree. Non-resident spouses may be granted a same-sex divorce in Vermont if they were married in state and cannot be divorced where they reside. Additionally, the spouses must not have minor children together.

Same-Sex Divorce in the District of Colombia

In Washington D.C., either spouse must be a resident for six months before filing. Non-resident spouses can file for divorce if they married in the District of Columbia and they do not reside in a state that recognizes same-sex divorce.

Same-Sex Divorce in Connecticut

The state of Connecticut does not have residency requirement for filing, but either spouse must be a resident for at least a year before a final judgment decree can be given.

Children and Same-Sex Divorce

In general, states that allow same-sex marriage also allow same-sex couples to adopt children. In cases of same-sex divorce, child custody is treated as it would be in any heterosexual marriage. However, in all other states which do not allow same-sex divorce, custody of children arising from same-sex relationships is not as clear and is ultimately based on the best interests of the children.

Do I Need a Lawyer for My Same-Sex Divorce?

The legal process of divorce is complicated and involves many issues. Additionally, same-sex divorces are a new and changing area of law. An experienced family lawyer can help ensure that your rights are protected. If you are a same-sex couple who does not meet the criteria for a same-sex divorce in Massachusetts, an attorney can advise you of other options that may be available.

Consult a Lawyer - Present Your Case Now!
Last Modified: 05-11-2015 08:34 PM PDT

Find the Right Lawyer Now

Did you find this article informative?

Link to this page

Law Library Disclaimer

LegalMatch Service Mark