New Hampshire Indecent Exposure Lawyers
Locate a Local Criminal Lawyer
What is Indecent Exposure?
In general, indecent exposure happens when one exposes private parts to another person. The crime the specific intent to either obtain sexual gratification or offend people. But indecent exposure does not include the touching of another or the threat of violence.
What is the Indecent Exposure Law in New Hampshire?
In New Hampshire, indecent exposure (or lewdness) occurs when an individual commits a lewd act or exposes their genitals in front of a minor. According to New Hampshire, a minor is anyone under the age of 16 years old.
What is the Punishment for Lewdness in the State?
Indecent exposure is a class B felony. An individual faces up to seven years in prison and $2,000 fine.
Are There Any Defenses to a Lewd Act Charge?
Yes, but the specific defense depends on the facts of the case. However, some general defenses to lewdness include:
- The defendant didn’t expose private parts
- The defendant didn’t expose private parts in the presence of another person
- It was a mistake or that there was no intent to expose genitals
- There was no intent to expose one’s genitals for sexual gratification
- The alleged victim wasn’t a minor
Is Indecent Exposure Considered Sexual Assault?
No, sexual assault is sexual contact or touching done by force, violence, or threat of force and without consent.
Is it Illegal for Me to Send a Minor Images of My Genitals?
Yes. The State of New Hampshire considers anyone who sends a minor photos or images of their genitals is guilty of indecent exposure.
Should I Contact a Lawyer about an Incident Exposure Charge?
Yes, contact a criminal lawyer about your incident exposure criminal charge. A lawyer will explain your charge and how to resolve your case.
Consult a Lawyer - Present Your Case Now!
Last Modified: 04-06-2016 07:16 AM PDT
Link to this page