West Virginia Age of Consent Lawyers
Locate a Local Criminal Lawyer
What is the Age of Consent for Sex in West Virginia?
In West Virginia, the age of consent for heterosexual sexual conduct is 16. For homosexual conduct, it is 18. This makes West Virginia one of the few states that have specifically legalized homosexual conduct by including it in their age of consent framework.
Like most other states, West Virginia has provisions which allow minors below the age of consent to engage in sexual conduct with partners who are close to the same age. A person aged 11 can consent to sex with anyone aged under 14. Minors 12 or older can consent to sex with a person who is no more than 4 years older.
In West Virginia, if a person who is older than 14 has sex with a person aged 11 or under, he or she can be punished by 15 to 35 years in prison. If a person aged 16 or older has sex with someone under 16, and is more than 4 years older than the victim, the offender could face 1 to 5 years in prison.
Do I Need a Lawyer?
If you believe you may be liable for violating age of consent laws, a West Virginia lawyer should be contacted immediately. A LegalMatch criminal defense attorney will be able to explain your rights and represent you in the event of prosecution.
Consult a Lawyer - Present Your Case Now!
Last Modified: 10-02-2014 02:09 PM PDT
Did you find this article informative?
Link to this page