Washington State Unlawful Possessin of a Firearm Lawyers
Locate a Local Criminal Lawyer
What is an Unlawful Possession?
Gun possession can be unlawful for various reasons, such as when an individual is a convicted felon and not legally allowed to own a gun. In Washington State, an individual can be arrested for crimes involving unlawful gun possession.
I’m a Convicted Felon, Will I Be Arrested for Firearm Possession?
Yes. In the State of Washington, a defendant convicted of certain criminal offenses cannot legally possess a firearm. Anyone who was convicted of a felony and caught with a firearm in their possession can be arrested and charged with unlawful firearm possession.
Does it Matter if the Firearm is Loaded?
No. It does not matter if the firearm was loaded or unloaded. A person can still face unlawful possession of a firearm charge.
I’m not a Convicted Felon, So Why Was I Arrested on a Gun Charge?
In Washington State, it’s also illegal to possess a gun if a person does not have a license to carry a firearm.
What Does Carrying a Concealed Firearm Charge Mean?
Carrying a concealed firearm refers to a defendant carrying a firearm on their person that is concealed, but without a license. It doesn’t matter if the firearm was found in the defendant’s vehicle, home, or on their person, they can be charged with violating the concealed carry law, a misdemeanor.
Is Unlawful Firearm Charge the Same as an Unlawful Possession of a Firearm?
No, it’s not the same criminal charge. Certain firearms are illegal to own in Washington State. These firearms include machine guns, short-barreled shotguns, and short-barreled rifles. When a defendant is accused of having an unlawful firearm, it means they have a type of firearm not allowed in the State. Whereas unlawful possession typically refers to having any type of firearm without a legal right to have one.
What are the Penalties for Unlawful Possession of a Gun?
It’s a class B felony to illegally possess a firearm. A defendant faces up to 10 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $20,000. While carrying a concealed firearm is punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
Should I Contact a Lawyer about My Charge?
Yes. It’s important to take to a criminal lawyer regarding your firearm charge. Contact a lawyer immediately.
Consult a Lawyer - Present Your Case Now!
Last Modified: 08-03-2016 02:57 PM PDT
Link to this page