Washington State Second Degree Assault Lawyers
Locate a Local Criminal Lawyer
What is Assault?
In Washington State, assault in the first degree is defined as the attempt to harm someone in a way that will cause great bodily harm or death. The attempt is done intentionally and generally with some kind of deadly weapon. Since first degree assault is charged as a class A felony, a convicted defendant can face life in prison. But the State has lesser assault charges: second and third degree assault.
What is Assault in the Second Degree?
Second degree assault involves numerous types of harm that may come to a victim such as:
- Causing bodily harm to an unborn child by injuring the expectant mother;
- Recklessly inflicting bodily injury on a victim;
- Using a deadly weapon to injury someone
- Strangling a victim
- Knowingly inflicting agony or pain on a victim by torturing them
- Giving a victim poison with the intent to cause bodily injury to the victim
What does Bodily Injury or Bodily Harm Mean?
Bodily injury or bodily harm are terms to describe the severity of harm done to a victim. The harm seriously impairs a victim’s health or comfort. The permanent or severe injuries include, but are not limited to:
- Serious disfigurement
- Serious burns or cuts
- Injuries to the neck and spine
- Serious scarring
What is a Deadly Weapon?
A deadly weapon is any instrument that is designed to inflict harm, or one that can be used to assault someone.
Is Assault in the Second Degree a Felony?
Yes, second degree assault is charged as a class B felony. A convicted defendant can face up to 10 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $20,000.
Can a Lawyer Help Me with My Second Degree Assault Charge?
Yes, a criminal lawyer will help you build a defense to fight your assault charge.
Consult a Lawyer - Present Your Case Now!
Last Modified: 08-03-2016 11:54 AM PDT
Link to this page