Washington State First Degree Malicious Mischief Lawyers
Locate a Local Criminal Lawyer
What is Malicious Mischief?
Criminal mischief happens when a person intentionally damages property of another. Washington State has additional charge for when a person maliciously and knowingly cause property damage. This charge is known as “malicious mischief.”
What Will the State Have to Prove to Convict Me of Malicious Mischief in the First Degree?
State prosecutors have to prove beyond a doubt the defendant:
- Caused physical damage, costing over $5,000, to someone’s property;
- Caused impairment or interruption to public services rendered by tampering or causing damage to property;
- Caused an impairment of operation, safety, or efficiency of an aircraft by physically tampering with the it.
What is Physical Damage to Property?
Criminal property damage occurs when a person interferes with another person’s right to use property. The physical damage may be to break the property, prevent it from running, or tamper with it.
What is the Charge for Malicious Mischief?
In Washington State, malicious mischief is charged as a class B felony.
What Type of Punishment Will I Receive I am Convicted of Malicious Mischief in Washington State?
A conviction of malicious mischief is punishable with up to 10 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $20,000. So it may possible the offender can avoid prison time and pay only the fine.
Should I Contact a Lawyer to Help Me Fight My Malicious Mischief Charge?
Yes. A charge of indecent exposure is serious and can lead to long-term struggles. You should contact a criminal lawyer to fight your case.
Consult a Lawyer - Present Your Case Now!
Last Modified: 08-03-2016 10:12 AM PDT
Link to this page