Washington State Dangerous Weapons Lawyers
Locate a Local Criminal Lawyer
What kind of Weapons Law does Washington State Have?
Washington has specific gun possession laws to prevent people, such as felons and those without gun licenses, from owning firearms. For example, a person who doesn’t have a license to carry a firearm may be charged with a misdemeanor charge for carrying a concealed weapon. The State of Washington also has laws against possessing or selling dangerous weapons.
What is a Dangerous Weapon?
A deadly/dangerous weapon refers to any instrument designed and created for the purpose of causing serious bodily harm or death to someone. These types of weapons are considered too dangerous for anyone to own.
What Weapons are considered Dangerous in Washington State?
Firearms are generally considered dangerous weapons in the state. But the following items are also considered dangerous weapons:
- Brass knuckles
- Metal knuckles
- Firearm silencers
When Can I Be Charged with Possessing a Dangerous Weapon in Washington State?
Washington defines the charge of possession of a dangerous weapon as when a person possesses, manufactures, or attempts to sell a dangerous weapon.
Is a Dangerous Weapons Charge a Felony or Misdemeanor?
The criminal charge is a gross misdemeanor. A gross misdemeanor is considered to be the most serious misdemeanor charge because it involves recklessness or complete disregard of safety.
What is the Penalty for a Dangerous Weapons Conviction?
A conviction for a dangerous weapon charge is punishable by 90 days to 1 year in jail and a fine of up to $5,000.
Should I Contact a Lawyer about My Dangerous Weapon Charge?
Yes, talk about your criminal charge and how to resolve it with a criminal lawyer.
Consult a Lawyer - Present Your Case Now!
Last Modified: 08-03-2016 02:52 PM PDT
Link to this page