Texas Penalties for Misdemeanors and Felonies
Locate a Local Criminal Lawyer
What Type of Crimes Can Result in a Penalty?
Crimes like robbery, murder, theft, and sexual assault all have various punishments in the criminal system. In Texas, sexual assault is charged as a second degree felony and is punishable by 2 to 20 years in prison. In the State of Texas, penalty for crimes range from fines to jail or prison time.
What is a Misdemeanor?
A misdemeanor is a criminal offense that is less serious than a felony. The punishment for any misdemeanor offenses range from a fine or minimal time in jail.
How are Misdemeanors Categorized in Texas?
Texas has three classes of misdemeanors:
- Class A: Punishable by up to 1 year in jail and/or a fine of up to $4,000
- Class B: Punishable up to 180 days in jail and/or $2,000 fine
- Class C: Punishable by a fine of up to $500
What is a Felony?
A felony is reserved for the most serious criminal offenses, such as murder. If charged and convicted of a felony, a defendant can be fined or sentenced to prison. In addition to serving a criminal punishment, a person may lose their right to buy and own a gun, to vote, or possess state occupational licenses.
What are the Different Felony Classes in Texas?
In Texas, felonies are separated into five classes:
- State Jail: Punishable by 180 days to 2 years in state jail and/or a fine of up to $10,000
- Third Degree: Punishable by 2 to 10 years in state prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000
- Second Degree: Punishable by 2 to 20 years in state prison and/ or a fine of up to $10,000
- First Degree: Punishable by 5 to 99 years in state prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000
- Capital: Punishable by life in prison without the possibility of parole or the death penalty.
Do I Need a Lawyer for My Case?
Yes. Both felonies and misdemeanors are serious and require the help of an experienced criminal lawyer.
Consult a Lawyer - Present Your Case Now!
Last Modified: 08-24-2016 08:29 AM PDT
Link to this page