Texas Manslaughter Lawyers
Locate a Local Criminal Lawyer
How is "Manslaughter" Defined?
Manslaughter is generally defined as the unlawful killing of an individual that does not rise to the level of murder. It’s not considered murder because of mitigating circumstances. which can reduce the severity of the charge and/or sentence.
How is Murder Defined in Texas?
Murder is defined as an unlawful homicide done with malice. In Texas, a murder charge may result in one of the following ways:
- A person intentionally kills another person;
- A person intentionally hurts another individual by doing something so dangerous it causes the individual’s death; or
- A person kills and individual during the commission of a felony, like a robbery.
A first degree murder conviction is punishable by 5 to 99 years, or life, prison and a fine of up to$10,000. A second degree murder conviction is punishable by 2 to 20 years and a fine of up to $10,000.
How Does Texas Define Manslaughter?
Manslaughter is defined an individual dying due to the actions of another person. The person does not need to have the intent to kill the victim. Instead, the victim dies because of the person’s reckless actions, or criminal recklessness.
Does a Criminal Negligent Homicide Carry the same Sentence as Second Degree Murder?
No. A criminally negligent homicide occurs when an individual’s death is caused by another person’s extreme carelessness. It’s punishable by 180 days to two years in jail and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
What’s the Punishment for Manslaughter in Texas?
In Texas, manslaughter is charged as a second degree felony. A convicted defendant can face 2 to 20 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
Should I Hire a Lawyer to Help Me with My Manslaughter Charge?
Yes. It’s vital to have legal representation to know and understand all of your rights. Contact a criminal lawyer immediately for help.
Consult a Lawyer - Present Your Case Now!
Last Modified: 09-27-2016 11:17 AM PDT
Link to this page