Repeat Offender Lawyers
What Are Repeat Offenders?
There are many occasions where individuals that have been convicted of a DUI repeat their offense. Therefore, these individuals are labeled repeat offenders and the penalties attached are much more severe. In California, repeat DUI offenders have larger fines; longer jail time and community service.
What Are the Penalties for Second Time Offenders?
The penalty for second time DUI offenders is very severe. In California, these penalties include:
- Fines: These fines can range anywhere from $1000 - $2000. The amount of a fine will depend upon the circumstances of each case and the judge.
- Jail: A second time DUI offender must spend a minimum of 48 hours in jail. In addition, a judge has the option of increasing jail time to a period of one year.
- License Suspension: A second time offender can have his driver's license suspending for up to 18 months.
- Drug/Alcohol Programs: A judge may order a second time offender to a drug/alcohol program for over a year.
- Community Service: A judge has wide discretion on determining the type and amount of community service.
What Are the Penalties for Third Time Offenders?
The penalty for a third time DUI offender is even more stringent. A minimum of four months jail time is required that can be increased to a year. In addition, the same penalties apply as for second time offenders but the duration can be increased by a judge's discretion. The level of punishment is determined by the period between DUI offenses.
Should I Consult an Attorney?
An experienced criminal defense attorney can be extremely helpful in DUI cases. These defense attorneys can help to evaluate the evidence against a suspect and determine whether the field sobriety tests were administered correctly. In addition, experienced criminal defense attorneys might be able to reduce any penalties imposed on first time offenders.
Consult a Lawyer - Present Your Case Now!
Last Modified: 11-04-2013 04:49 PM PST
Did you find this article informative?
Link to this page