Nevada Spousal Abuse Lawyers
Locate a Local Criminal Lawyer
What Is Domestic Violence?
Domestic violence is violence against a family member or people in a dating relationship without their permission. Spousal abuse is more specific than domestic violence. It is a violent act a spouse does against their spouse without their spouse’s permission. The violent act may range from rape and continuous harassment to verbal and emotional abuse. In Nevada, domestic violence battery is another form of spousal abuse.
What Is Domestic Violence Battery in Nevada?
Domestic violence battery is the intentional and unlawful use of violence or force against a victim. The force or violence can range from hitting to strangulation. A domestic violence battery victim can be:
- Current or former spousal
- Significant other
- Person related by blood or marriage
- The person’s child
- Person appointed a legal guardian of a minor
- Individual living in the same household as the person accused of domestic violence
Are Spousal Abuse and Simple Battery the Same in Nevada?
No. Battery is violence or force used against a victim without their consent. The victim is generally not related in any way to the person accused of battery.
Will I Have to Serve Jail Time If I Am Convicted of Spousal Abuse?
Jail time is possible if you are convicted of abusing your spouse. For a first conviction, the punishment is:
- Two days to six months in county jail
- $1,000 fine
- Rehabilitative class for up to six months
- No longer allowed to own a gun
- About 120 hours of community service
If a person is convicted a second time in seven years, then they face:
- 10 days to six months in county jail
- Weekly domestic violence classes for six months to a year
- $1,000 fine
If a person is convicted for a third time in seven years, then their sentence will consist of:
- Five years in prison
- One year of domestic violence counseling
- $10,000 fine
- 200 hours of community service
Should I Hire a Lawyer to Represent Me in My Spousal Battery Case?
If you are accused of spousal abuse, contact a Nevada lawyer immediately. You need to start preparing a defense to fight the charges.
Consult a Lawyer - Present Your Case Now!
Last Modified: 10-19-2016 07:25 PM PDT
Link to this page