Nevada Second DUI Charge Attorneys
Locate a Local Criminal Lawyer
What Is the Driving Under the Influence Law in Nevada?
Driving under the influence (DUI) is a crime when a person has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level at or above the legal limit and they are operating a vehicle.
What Is a Blood Alcohol Concentration Level?
A BAC level refers to the amount of alcohol in a person’s blood at the time of their arrest. In Nevada, the legal limit is 0.08 percent.
What Is the Penalty for a First Time DUI Conviction in Nevada?
In Nevada, a first DUI conviction is a minimum of two days to six months in county jail. A person may have to pay fine of at least $400 in fines. They may also have their driving license suspended for about 90 days.
Will I Spend More Time in Jail for a Second DUI Conviction?
Yes, a second DUI conviction is a minimum of 10 days in a Nevada county jail. The maximum a person may spend is six months in jail.
Will My Driver's License Be Suspended?
Yes. According to Nevada law, a person’s license will be suspended for one year following a second DUI conviction within a seven-year period.
Will a Breath Interlock Device Be Placed on My Vehicle?
A judge may order the device be placed in your vehicle, as it is a potential punishment for committing a second DUI.
What Other Penalties Will I Face If I Am Convicted of a Second DUI in Nevada?
Besides jail time and a license suspension, a person faces:
- $750 to $1,000 fine
- Pay court cost
- About 200 hours of community service
- Mandatory attendance to a Victim Impact Panel
Do I Need an Attorney to Help Me with My DUI?
Yes, as a second DUI charge is extremely serious. Contact a Nevada attorney to understand more about your legal rights and the possibility of getting the charge dismissed or reduced.
Consult a Lawyer - Present Your Case Now!
Last Modified: 11-08-2016 12:09 PM PST
Link to this page