Nevada Domestic Violence Attorneys
Locate a Local Criminal Lawyer
What Is Domestic Violence?
In Nevada, domestic violence is generally a violent confrontation between two people who are related by blood or marriage or who are dating or living together. The confrontation may involve hitting, pushing, assault, threats, or emotional abuse. Domestic violence may also be exhibited through behavior that is intended to harass the victim, such as:
- Destruction of private property
- Carrying a concealed weapon without a permit
- Injuring or killing an animal
What Sort of Evidence May Be Used in a Domestic Violence Case?
A prosecutor will try to prove beyond a reason about that a person is guilty of committing a violent confrontation against a family member or dating partner with:
- Testimony from the victim accusing them of domestic violence
- Eyewitness testimony
- History of the person committing domestic violence
- Any statement the person made admitting to committing domestic violence
- Medical reports from the alleged victim
- Any pictures of the alleged victim’s injuries
What Type of Penalty Will I Face for Domestic Violence?
The specific penalty depends on the number of offenses that a person is convicted of in a seven-year period. While the first two domestic violence convictions are misdemeanors, any subsequent domestic violence offense is a category C felony. The punishment for a first domestic violence offense is:
- Two days to six months in jail
- A fine of $200 to $1,000
- Between 48 and 120 hours of community service
- Weekly counseling for six to 12 months
The punishment for a second domestic violence conviction is:
- 10 days to six months in jail
- $500 to $1,000 in the form of a fine
- 100 to 200 hours of community service
- Weekly counseling for a year
Any subsequent convictions for domestic violence will result in:
- One to five years in prison
- A $10,000 fine
- A fine and prison time
What Defenses Can I Use to Fight a Domestic Charge in Nevada?
The most common defenses for domestic violence include:
- False allegations
- Self-inflicted injury by the alleged victim
Do I Need an Attorney to Help Me Fight My Domestic Violence Charge?
Domestic violence is a serious charge in Nevada. You will need to talk to a Nevada attorney to learn more about defenses and your legal rights.
Consult a Lawyer - Present Your Case Now!
Last Modified: 10-19-2016 05:59 PM PDT
Link to this page