Illinois Gun Restriction Lawyers
Locate a Local Criminal Lawyer
What is the Illinois Gun Restriction?
Some states place limitations on firearm possession and sales. These are the restriction on firearms in Illinois:
- The Child Access Prevention Law - Illinois requires owners to store guns in a place not readily available to minors under 14. Owners are required to lock away firearms and fit child safety locks. If a child under 14 obtains an improperly stored or locked gun the adult owner is criminally liable.
- Juvenile Possession Law - Illinois bars possession of handguns by people under 18 years old. Other firearms require a criminal background check.
- Juvenile Sale/Transfer Law - This law bars or restricts the sale or transfer of specified guns to youth. In Illinois you have to be 18 for handguns. Other firearms require a criminal background check. There are exemptions for hunting.
Does Illinois Require Background Checks?
There is a 3 day waiting period for all handgun sales and a 24 hour period for all long gun sales. The waiting period is used to run criminal background checks and to serve as a "cooling off" period. There is in addition a requirement of a Firearms Owner's Identification Card (FOID) which is a criminal background check. This check can take up to 30 days.
Is it Illegal to Carry a Concealed Weapon?
Yes, this is prohibited.
Does Illinois Require a License to Possess Firearms?
Yes, they do require people to obtain or own a Firearms Owner's Identification Card (FOID) before purchasing a firearm.
Does Chicago Require Registration of Firearms?
Yes, Chicago requires registration of all or rifles/shotguns and handguns.
Does Illinois Have a Ban on Assault Weapons?
No, there is no ban or limitation on assault weapons. Federal law does prevent the sale of some assault weapons, but this federal law will expire in 2004 unless Congress renews it.
Consult a Lawyer - Present Your Case Now!
Last Modified: 05-20-2015 09:25 AM PDT
Did you find this article informative?
Link to this page