Georgia Age of Consent Lawyers
Locate a Local Criminal Lawyer
What Is the Age of Consent in Georgia?
In Georgia, the age of consent to engage in sex is 16. However, there can be no conviction for statutory rape in Georgia based only on the unsupported testimony of the victim. There must be some additional evidence. This might include physical evidence, the testimony of another witness, or the admission of the offender.
The penalties for violating the statutory rape laws in Georgia are quite stiff. For a “standard” case of statutory rape, the penalty can range from 1 to 20 years in prison. If the perpetrator is over the age of 21, the penalty is 10 to 20 years in prison.
If both parties are under 18, and there is less than a 4 year age difference between them, it is still illegal for them to have sex in Georgia, but it is treated as a far less severe crime.
Seeking Legal Help
Consult a Lawyer - Present Your Case Now!
Last Modified: 02-06-2015 03:08 PM PST
Did you find this article informative?
Link to this page